menu Menu
39 articles filed in
Old Testament
Previous page Next page Next page


The First Book of Moses, called Genesis

Genesis gives a record of the making of the world and the starting point of life. Answers the inquiries “How did God’s association with us start?” and “How did the nation of Israel structure?” Key characters incorporate Adam, Eve, Noah, Abraham, Sarah, Isaac, Rebekah, Jacob, and Joseph.

Continue reading


The Second Book of Moses, Called Exodus

Exodus is a record of how God conveyed Israel from subjection in Egypt and gives a background of their flight from the country.

Continue reading


The Third Book of Moses, called Leviticus

Leviticus depicts stately law, the procedural directions for how Israel (particularly Levitical ministers) should love God.

Continue reading


The Fourth Book of Moses, called Numbers

Numbers portrays an evaluation of the individuals and Israel’s inability to trust and obey God (and along these lines are compelled to meander in the wild for 40 years).

Continue reading


The Fifth Book of Moses, called Deuteronomy

In Deuteronomy, Moses gives Israel a repeat of the directions for following God. Its purpose is to help Israelites to remember what God has given them and what he anticipates from them.

Continue reading


The Book of Joshua

A depiction of Joshua’s battle to vanquish the Promised Land and convey its properties to the Twelve Tribes of Israel.

Continue reading


The Book of Judges

The historical backdrop of Israel from Joshua to Samson. Judges depicts a country the rehashes a cycle of getting some distance from God, falling hostage and turning into a mistreated country, shouting to God for help, lastly being saved by their pioneers (the “judges”). Key characters incorporate Othniel, Ehud, Deborah, Gideon, Abimelech, Jephthah, Samson, and Delilah.

Continue reading


The Book of Ruth

In the Book of Ruth, two widows lose everything except for hope, trust which prompts the birth of Israel’s future lord, King David. Outlines the result and contrast between a country that doesn’t follow the contract of God (Judges) and a country that loyally holds fast to the covenant (Ruth).

Continue reading

1 Samuel

The First Book of Samuel Otherwise Called the First Book of the Kings

Composed by the remainder of the Judges, the First Book of Samuel gives a background marked by Israel during the judgeship of Samuel and the reign of Saul so as to exhibit how Israel picked a ruler while disregarding God’s desires.

Continue reading

2 Samuel

The Second Book of Samuel Otherwise Called the Second Book of the Kings

The Second Book of Samuel is a portrayal of King David that exhibits successful administration while submitting to God.

Continue reading

1 Kings

The First Book of the Kings Commonly Called the Third Book of the Kings

This is the account of flourishing under King Solomon (the last ruler) trailed by a split of his realm (into the Northern and Southern Kingdoms) after his passing.

Continue reading

2 Kings

The Second Book of the Kings Commonly Called the Fourth Book of the Kings

Two rulers decide to abandon God and at last fall hostage to different domains.

Continue reading

Previous page Next page